“Of Some People and Times”

4/22/17. 4/23/17.
Written by: Victor P.
(Long Prose)

“Of Some People and Times”

I’d think to pray of ones previously overlooked,
Think to remember ones in memory forgotten,
I’ll see the path where many lives meet
And see where differences mark the lines.

It’s a strange time to live in, it seems,
So much happening but little seems great,
So little joy on many faces I see often,
Less hope in more hearts, less light.

They’re apathetic or indifferent,
What does it matter to them, anyway?
They’re sick and tired of how it is,
They’ve given up on trying by now.

I’m feeling not the desperation of another,
Knowing not the hell in their minds,
Feeling not the weight of affliction,
Understanding not the pain of it all.

I can’t see through suffering eyes,
Can’t sense the hopelessness there,
Can’t feel that soul’s perilous state.
Who can say what’s wrong ere it’s too late?

We don’t breathe the air with same realization,
Don’t think about things the same way,
Don’t see it all as the other ones do,
I don’t know what darkness lies ahead for them.

I can’t seem to remember before now
When I saw hopelessness in another.
I don’t think I’ll forget from now on
What I know a hopeless one may do.

It hurts to see those suffering,
When you can’t see the joy
In the face of flesh and blood
When the window to that soul is opaque.

God help me help them if I can,
It’s just so tiring to feel helpless,
When words fail to bring good changes
And when caring is called hating.

I’d see it differently, all that is now,
I’d wish the blank stares never came,
I’d see no grip of addiction choking
The life out of those close to me.

I’ve seen where the road of addiction leads,
I wouldn’t wish wish it on an enemy,
I hate that it took hold of a loved one,
I hate what came to pass because of it.

You could have nothing to relate to here
Or you know something of what’s written;
Maybe you’re in addiction’s grip or hopeless,
I know that it’s all that can come to any life.

Bring you apathy, I’ll bring my love;
Bring your doubts, I’ll bring my faith;
Bring your hopelessness, I’ll tell you Who’s my hope;
Bring your addiction, I’ll point you to the Deliverer!

I’ll grow to hate more the addiction
That wrought such damage upon a loved one
But I won’t let hate be all that is in me,
I won’t let it consume me, God help me.

I’d give you hope I have within if I could,
I’d break your addiction’s chains if I could;
I’d mend your wounds if they were physical;
I’d do all I could, however little it may seem.

It’s nothing trivial, this struggling in life
Against the problems we all must face,
But I believe we all fight only to lose
If we fight without God being our strength.

If all we have is all we are, we’re lacking much,
If we’re trusting our own strength, we’ll break,
If we try to make it through it all alone
Without people, without God, we’re doomed to fail.

Through all that comes, all that brings down,
We can make it, we can stand up, only with God
As our strength, our hope, our life and salvation;
Only with God can we do all we otherwise wouldn’t be able to do.
…………………………………………………………………………………

Author: GloryToGodAlone

Just a man in his late twenties blogging for the glory of God. Reading, Writing, Thinking, Living. Sharing things from Books, Poems/Prose, Quotes, Links, Images, Etc.

Leave a Reply

