“The Many Lines on the Tenses of Life”

3/26/17
Written by: Viktor P.
Prose

“The Many Lines on the Tenses of Life”

My God, I’m still searching for words
To express my sincere gratitude and thankfulness
For all You have given me up to this moment
And most of all for grace and salvation.

What can I give to You
Who gave me all I have?
Whatever I have I give back
To You as an offering.

Every single day,
Every single breath,
A gift from You to me
To use and not to waste.

I cannot keep a single thing
I own, whatever I possess,
I’ll leave it all behind when I die
But until then I’ll use it all
For Your glory, my dear God.

I see nothing’s really mine in the end
And even my salvation’s a gift from You,
It’s all from Your beneficent hands, Lord,
It’s all because of Your unfailing love.

I have felt the warmth
Your presence brings.
I have seen the works
Your hands have wrought.

All these days go by one by one,
With all the routine and predictability
And it starts to seem like nothing
Will change the repetition of routine.

In the dull and the boring days
And in the busy and hectic ones
My mind gets a little lost in the stress
And You call me to You seek Your face.

Every day’s a little different
And sometimes You speak to me clearly
Arresting my attention to focus
Once again on Your Beloved Son.

Christ’s hands and feet were pierced,
His head bloody from the crown of thorns,
His side was pieced, blood and water flowed out,
On the Cross He bled and died for the sins of the world.

I think about it for a while sometimes
But my finite mind still can’t grasp it:
That You the Omnipotent let mortals kill Christ
So He’d make atonement for the sins of people.

I know I stood guilty when I was still unsaved,
I was against You then, I was rebelling against all You are,
I was among those who killed Jesus Christ,
I may as well have nailed Him to the Cross myself.

My guilt and shame were eating me up inside,
There was no peace inside, it was an empty life,
I was chasing nothing hoping to catch something,
My existence without knowing You was hopeless.

Your grace reached my unsaved soul,
Your love turned my stone heart to flesh,
You saved me from the Hell I deserved,
You forgave my sins, saved me from myself.

You brought me back from the dead,
You saw the unsaved wretch I was then
But You loved me, Christ gave His life for me
To save me, to bring me into Your family.

It’s still a little hard to believe sometimes
That I’ve been bought by the Blood of Your Son,
No longer on the road to Hell, no longer condemned
But it’s the truth You’ve spoken and I believe it.

Are there simple words I can use
Which can relay Your truth
I hold now within my heart
And long to share with the world?

I know there are those who don’t believe
That You’re even real, God, but I know
You’re as real as the most real thing in existence
And I can’t deny, won’t deny that I believe in You!

I’ll keep on writing and speaking the truth
For You’ve called me to live in it and speak it.
I’ll keep writing what I’m living through,
What I’m seeing, what You’re doing, Lord.

I long to see more people come into Your family
And it pains me to see people wasting their lives,
Living for themselves, denying You even exist.
Open my mouth to speak the truth to them.

God, I’m no orator, I’m no hero of any people
And I know You’re not looking for those,
You’re looking for the humble and willing;
I want to be one of the humble and willing.

I’ll be forgotten someday, I know it,
But Your great name will never be forgotten,
It’ll never be erased, You’ll never be forgotten
From the pages of histroy or in the hearts of Your children.

I don’t want fame, don’t care about my own name,
I just want to praise Your name and glorify it, Lord,
I don’t care what the unbelieving say about me,
I care about praising You, honoring Your name.

I want to make Your name known in this world
More than my own, more than every other name,
I want lift it above every other, bring all others down
And put Yours at the top so it never drops down.

I pray You open these weak lips of mine to speak Your word,
And God, I pray the eyes of the blind unbelievers I meet
Will be opened by Your grace and incomparable love,
That You save the persishing from eternal Hell.

My heart beats with love for You
And I want to share that love with the lost;
I want tell them, show them what it’s really like
To love and be loved by You, living and true God.

I want to give up everything I have to
To be a living sacrifice, to be all Yours,
Pay the price, count the cost, sacrifice
Everything for You, for Your glory.

Father of the redeemed,
Savior of the lost,
God of all comfort
And of true peace,
Praise and glory all be to You,
Blessed be Your holy name!
…………………………………………
Glory to God Alone.

Author: GloryToGodAlone

Just a man in his late twenties blogging for the glory of God. Reading, Writing, Thinking, Living. Sharing things from Books, Poems/Prose, Quotes, Links, Images, Etc.

Leave a Reply

