“Before Dying”

4/21/12
Written by: Victor P.

“Before Dying”

Moon shining on our bodies, vessels infirm,
Mortal bodies in which we all do dwell lifelong.
Love in hearts grows cold, world’s grip firm.
Pray we on our deathbeds will sing this song:
“Have mercy on me Lord, I’m a sinner dying,
With Your love fill me and forgive all my lying,
A fool I’ve been long but now I’ve seen Your light,
I realize that only You can bring me true delight.
Forgive all my sins and wash me clean
Before the last time this world I’ve seen.”

Our journey is long, filled with joys and fears,
It will reach an end at the close of our years,
With weak body but spirit strong we’re waiting
For the beyond to take us, eternity awaiting.
When our bodies shall be but shells decaying,
Memory of us in people’s mind will be staying.
Pray you be awake when you’re tempted to fail,
Trust in God because only His help shall avail.

Before dying, see if you are prepared to stand before God,
Before you’re in the earth, on your grave lay many a dirt clod,
Without salvation you have no hope of heaven after death,
Repent and believe in Christ, before you take your final breath.
Christ is the way to God, the Savior of your soul,
Praise the Lord while you breathe, His name extol.
………………………………………………………………………..

Author: GloryToGodAlone

Just a man in his late twenties blogging for the glory of God. Reading, Writing, Thinking, Living. Sharing things from Books, Poems/Prose, Quotes, Links, Images, Etc.

Leave a Reply

