“The Past Recalled. Remembered Hopelessness”

3/6/13
Written by: Victor P.

“The Past Recalled. Remembered Hopelessness”

You’re leading me to the poisoned waters slowly,
You deceived me, called me worthless and lowly,
With your contrivances you intended my ruin the end to be.
Why did I stay here blind for so long? Someone answer me.

I’m done calling names in darkness,
I’ve traded my ship for a fortress.
I won’t take risks, I’ve come to know
For me a blessed day will not show.

I’ve called some name but only to my ail,
How I have tried too long but to no avail.
I’m on my own, alone I won’t prevail.
Please tell me, was I destined to fail?

You can come out of hiding, my enemy,
You don’t need to hide anymore, don’t you see?
If my hope is gone, you overcame me,
Without hope I’m broken and you won’t flee.

Treasures and measures, their eyes on the ground,
Without thought to stop this and just turn around.
They make their days bleed out yesterday’s sound
But I have been living as one who’s heavenbound.

Deceiver, you have nothing that I truly need,
I won’t come to you or upon your poison feed.
Your lies may have blinded me before
But I will not fall for them anymore.

Deceivers, I’ve figured out your sick game.
Achievers, don’t waste time chasing fame.
Fleeting spotlight and a heart left untamed,
Name of the past and a future unclaimed.

Light the beacon of hope in your hearts
Or let decay consume all your parts.
Vain intent and a search made shallow,
End your treading on the path to hollow.
……………………………………………………….

Author: GloryToGodAlone

Just a man in his late twenties blogging for the glory of God. Reading, Writing, Thinking, Living. Sharing things from Books, Poems/Prose, Quotes, Links, Images, Etc.

Leave a Reply

